This guide contains a full list of resources organized by name.
Last Updated: Nov 21, 2014
View suggested databases for subjects and departments.
These databases cover a wide range of disciplines and topics. They are the best place to start for most searchers.
- Academic Search Premier
A comprehensive, multidisciplinary database that includes full text for over 4,770 journals and indexes and abstracts more than 13,700 journals.
- ProQuest Central
ProQuest Central features a highly-respected, diversified mix of general reference, scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
- EBSCOHost Databases
Search databases from a variety of disciplines using the EBSCOHost Interface.
Electronic archive of core academic journals in a wide variety of disciplines. Coverage begins with volume 1 of any journal and proceeds typcially to within the most recent 5 years. Access to JSTOR journals is generously provided in memory of John Riley, Class of 1926, by Robert and Anne Riley Bourne, Class of 1954.
- LexisNexis Academic
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information.
- Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.
- Expanded Academic ASAP
From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers - with full text and images!
- InfoTrac OneFile
Source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. Many articles are full text.
- OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson)
Now provided by EBSCOhost OmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition, OmniFile provides full text articles from over 2,500 publications and research in all core undergraduate subjects and for cross-disciplinary work.
- Project MUSE - Premium Collection
Provides 100% full-text, user-friendly online access to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
- Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision-making. As an independent statistical agency, BLS serves its diverse user communities by providing products and services that are objective, timely, accurate, and relevant.
- FIRST: Facts on International Relations and Security Trends (Sipri)
Offers a factual reference system on international relations and security trends. Contains information in areas such as: conflicts, arms transfers and military expenditure, hard facts on states and international organizations, economic and social statistics, and chronologies.
- GPO Access Search
Service of the U.S. Government Printing Office providing free access to important information products produced by the Federal Government. The information provided on this site is the official, published version and the information retrieved from GPO Access can be used without restriction, unless specifically noted.
- Historical Statistics of the United States
HSUS provides data on social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences including history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade.
- National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
Searchable database of NCES publications and products. Connects to many full-text NCES publications. Use Subjects A to Z to locate publications on specific topics.
- ProQuest Statistical Insight
Search exclusively inside statistical tables, based on the table and row headings, the title, assigned subject descriptors, or bibliographic information. Every table is linked to an abstract, which in turn contains a link to the full-text source document.
- Social Explorer
Social Explorer provides quick and easy access to current and historical demographic data. Easy-to-use online tools help users create custom maps and reports to visualize, explore and understand the patterns behind the numbers.
- Uniform Crime Report: Crime in the United States
The FBI’s UCR Program is a nationwide, cooperative statistical effort of more than 18,000 city, university and college, county, state, tribal, and federal law enforcement agencies voluntarily reporting data on crimes brought to their attention. Since 1930, the FBI has administered the UCR Program and has continued to assess and monitor the nature and type of crime in the nation. The program’s primary objective is to generate reliable information for use in law enforcement administration, operation, and management; over the years, however, the data have become one of the country’s leading social indicators. Criminologists, sociologists, legislators, municipal planners, the media, and other students of criminal justice use the data for varied research and planning purposes.
- Commercial Appeal (Memphis, TN)
The daily newspaper in Memphis, Tennessee.
- African American Newspapers (1827-1998)
Features 270 newspapers published in 36 states, including rare and historically significant 19th-century titles. Fully searchable collection with insights into African American history, culture and daily life. Coverage spans life in the Antebellum South; the spread of abolitionism; the growth of the Black church; the Emancipation Proclamation; the Jim Crow Era; the Great Migration to northern cities, the West and Midwest in search of greater opportunity; the rise of the N.A.A.C.P.; the Harlem Renaissance; the Civil Rights movement; political and economic empowerment and more.
- America's Historical Newspapers with Early American Newspapers
Series 2 of Early American Newspapers offers several hundred thousand fully searchable issues from more than 200 significant 18th and 19th century newspapers.
- National Newspaper Index
Article abstracts or references from five major newspapers: The New York Times (late and national editions); The Wall Street Journal (eastern and western editions); The Christian Science Monitor (national edition); The Washington Post (final edition); and The Los Angeles Times (home edition).
- Sou'wester (Rhodes College Student Newspaper)
The Sou'wester was published November 15, 1919 and has continued without interruption as a proud publishing tradition. The Sou'wester has been written and published by students as a forum for student expression, as a voice for free and open discussion of issues, and as an educational setting in which students can gain journalistic practice.
- Wall Street Journal (ProQuest)
The financial newspaper of record offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as first rate coverage of hard news.
- Tennessean, The
Daily newspaper from Nashville, Tennessee
- Acceda Noticias
Complete electronic editions Spanish-language newspapers published in major U.S. cities plus full-text articles from other news sources and complete electronic newspaper editions from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, China, Colombia, Ecuador, Mexico, Peru and Spain.
- Vanderbilt Television News Archive
An extensive and complete archive of television news. Rhodes faculty, students, and staff have full access to broadcasts from CNN (9/25/1988 - present) and NBC (8/5/1968 - present).
Need articles fast? Search here for quick access to full text articles from peer reviewed journals. You won't find everything, but you will find something.
The most popular specialized databases at Rhodes College.
View suggested databases for multidisciplinary programs.